Seven Days

This time next week I will be starting my last day of work at Parks Canada, and I will probably be frantically thinking of all the things I need to do before we come home. Here’s a look at our schedule for the next seven days:

  • Today: Work, then pack
  • Tomorrow: Pack
  • Wednesday: Pack and move from our house to Colin’s dad’s house
  • Thursday: Work
  • Friday: Work
  • Saturday: Work
  • Sunday: Work
  • Monday: Work, then repack and pick up all the things to bring back for my family
  • Tuesday: Drive to Nanaimo, take to ferry to Vancouver and drive home to Maple Ridge
  • Wednesday: Back to classes at SFU 10:30 in the morning

We are moving out of our house so that our roomies can have their new roomies move in on the first of September. Luckily, Colin’s dad offered to put us up for a week so we could keep raking in the dough by the sweat of our brows at Parks Canada.

Scratch that. So that I could keep raking in the dough by the sweat of my brow. Colin, who squeaked in to a delightful little contract, gets annual leave so his last five days of work he will be lounging around the house, whilst still getting paid. Jerk.

The last three months working for the national park here have been so awesome. I told a lot of people that it was essentially the same job I was doing at Tourism Tofino, but I was so very wrong. While the day to day might be similar (talking to people, selling park passes, giving them directions), and while my job at Tourism Tofino gave me a great head start as far as knowledge about the area goes, I feel like I’m really working for something now.

Last night a few of us got together to watch one of the interpretive programs that the park puts on every night. I had seen a snippet of the Bears, Wolves and Cougars program before and wanted to see the whole thing before we left. The show was funny and super entertaining, but the core message was one about conservation, about living in a way that protects the wildlife from us and preserves it for us. I came away from the show really excited and inspired to be a part of SAVING ZEE BEARS.

Because, according to the things I hear from zee Germans, zee bears are all they want to see. And zee Germans, they don’t always seem to understand that zee bears could rip the flesh off their bones. And that scares me. A lot.

Sure, there have been parts of the job that are less than enjoyable. Dealing with people who vant to see zee bears. Dealing with compliance notices, which are kind of like parking tickets. People don’t seem to like these things. And sometimes they make me feel like a glorified punching bag. But you know what? Those people comprise about 2% of the people I see every day. The rest of the people make the punching bag days worthwhile.

People like Edward James Olmos.

When I met him, I knew him as “THE DAD FROM SELENA!”

But then I watched the entire series of Battlestar Galactica. And now I know him as Admiral Adama.

Right up there with Reba for my favorite celebrity sightings, he is.

And then I get notes like this from our videographer, who has the blessed fortune to also be named Alex.

Edward James Olmos and notes left on Paint.

It’s the little things that get us through.

Leave a Reply

