Cherry Crumb Cake

On Monday, a ten pound box of cherries arrived at my door. Despite having a whole week to prepare for their arrival, i had no clue what to do with them. I spent last night pitting them with a handheld cherry pitter. I had given away about two pounds before I started, and thank goodness for that because I had dreams last night that my hand had fallen off.

I froze one giant freezer bag of pitted cherries for smoothies. Colin is on a big smoothie kick right now and has promised under pain of death not to add anything green to my smoothies. The cherries were part of the incentive to keep the damn spinach out of my morning  banana blueberry glass of deliciousness. That left one other big bag of pitted cherries for me to deal with today.

I couldn’t be bothered to go to the store to buy shortening for pie crust. I didn’t want to make any sort of pie. I didn’t want muffins or cupcakes or cherry sauce or anything else I saw on the food blogs or in my cookbooks.

So I invented something.

Badass right?

I had no idea how it was going to turn out. There was a very distinct possibility that I could have wasted that entire bag of delicious cherries on a total flop that even Colin wouldn’t eat. But no, it’s amazing. Totally, freaking amazing.

Cherry Crumb Cake

  • 6 tablespoons butter at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2  eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup sour cream
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 cups fresh, pitted cherries, divided
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease and line a 9 inch cake pan with a circle of parchment paper.

In a large bowl, cream together the sugar and the butter until combined. Stir in the eggs completely. Stir in the vanilla and sour cream.

In another bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir gently until just combined. Lumps are ok here, the cherries will help break those up. Fold in one cup of cherries. Pour the batter into the greased pan , smoothing the top.

Halve the remaining cup of cherries and arrange in a circle, cut side down, on top of the cake batter. Sprinkle the brown sugar evenly on top of the cake. Bake for 40-50 minutes, until the cake is browned and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

You can top it with powdered sugar or be wild and crazy like me and top it with homemade cherry chocolate chip ice cream.I’m badass, haven;t you heard?

Leave a Reply

