An Email I Sent Today

Today I sent this email to Colin with instructions on how to cook rice for dinner….

Subject: got RICE?

To cook deericious rice:

Put 1 cup of rice in a pot. Pour over a cup and half of water.

Turn the heat on to medium-high. Watch the pot VERY CAREFULLY until little bubbles begin to pop up to the surface, forming little craters in the rice. Craters are extremely important in the making of rice, did you know that?

Once the craters have formed (you should see this happen because you are carefully watching the pot) cover the pot with a lid, turn the heat down to low and simmer for 20 minutes.

DO NOT OPEN THE LID. If you take the lid off of the pot during the cooking of rice, the entire universe will implode. At least this is what my mom’s reaction to my taking the lid off of the rice pot when I was 12 implied to me. Hysterics, I tell you.

Once 20 minutes is up, it is safe to take off the lid without risking immediate death of entire civilizations. Fluff the rice with a fork and eat lots.

If you want to make extra rice for lunches or fried rice, increase the amount to 2 cups of rice and 3 cups of water. Same cooking time, same warnings about the lid.

Just cook the rice and set it aside, I’ll do the chicken and stuff when I get home if you want.

Love,
Alex

Clearly I am losing it.

4 Comments on “An Email I Sent Today”

  1. Momma! says:

    Clearly, you ARE losing it!!!! I was NOT that bad, and when you double the recipe, you do need to increase time a bit, maybe 5-10 minutes. Enjoy! xo

  2. Emily says:

    haha i bet you were ROSE, because i also remember death would be upon me if i opened that lid before the 20mintues… MARG was on the same page. I too will pass this notion on to my kids. You should see JAN could rice.. a WHOLE other playing field, involves butter LOTS of it and onions and chicken broth…. stirring too!


Leave a Reply

