Homesick

Four days in and I’m homesick. I miss my momma. I miss my dog. I miss my sisters and my godson and my couch. I miss cable and wireless and boursin cheese.

Ok, I can get boursin cheese here, but it’s like nine dollars. I like it, but I don’t like it that much. I’ll tell Colin to get it for me for my birthday.

As usual, the first night was the worst. After all the unpacking and the sorting out, I’m always exhausted and I get to thinking “Did I do the right thing in coming here?”.

Of course I did. I love Tofino, I love my job, I love the summers that Colin and I get to spend together. It’s just this mental block that I have that prevents me from being able to really love the whole idea of it until we’re about a month into living here. Sunday morning, I was still in Maple Ridge. Sunday morning, I woke up in my own bed and had a face to face conversation with my family members. For some reason, going to sleep in Tofino that first night and knowing that I’ll wake up in Tofino every day for the next four months feels really overwhelming. I almost think that if I could just stay in Sunday for a while longer, I could hold onto home a little bit longer too.

Luckily, today is my first day of work. There is nothing like a steady stream of German tourists to take your mind off your troubles.

Also luckily, our house is great and beautiful and clean and I love it. The people renting the bottom floor are friendly. I got to cook for the entire day yesterday. I made a yummy bolognese sauce to stock the freezer with, roasted a chicken and started on some homemade chicken stock.

Thankfully, I have a boyfriend who loves me very much and doesn’t mind if I’m a bit weepy.

Thankfully, my wireless is being hooked up today and I will finally be able to skype and upload pictures and mindlessly look at food and wedding blogs.

Thankfully, Sobo has an amazing brisket sandwich that I got to eat on Monday. Be jealous.

I will try to remember these things while I look at this weather forecast.

One Comment on “Homesick”

  1. aw love, hopefully discounted boursin cheese will take the away the overwhelming sting!
    <3


Leave a Reply

