Sobo

Photo from sobo.ca

I’ve been trying to write this post for a while. Every time I start, I end up sounding like one of Justin Beiber’s fangirls.

“omigawd i love sobo so much it’s so amazing like right? like everything is so good and i love it and i want to marry it.”

Yup, that’s about right. So I’m going to try to be adult and give you a non-annoying breakdown of my favorite restaurant in Tofino. However, I have had a few glasses of wine tonight, so who knows where we’ll end up. Come along for this wild ride!

Sobo has amazed me since my first meal there in 2008. At the time, I did not eat salmon, onions, mushrooms, shellfish or crab and had only just begun enjoying tomato sauce on my pasta (don’t ask). On some kind of culinary suicide mission, I ordered the salmon. It was delicious. Amazing. I was changed forever. I still think about it today. Kind of in the way you think about a really great first date. Or first kiss.

Too far? Sorry.

Thus began my love affair with Sobo. Working at the information center, I try to get out to as many restaurants as possible every season so that I can give accurate information to visitors. Yeah, that’s why I eat out so much. You got a problem with that? But over the years it’s gotten harder for me to go to other restaurants when all I’m really craving is smoked fish chowder and polenta fries.

Not that any other restaurant’s meals are bad….they’re just not Sobo. Chef Lisa Ahier somehow mixes everything I love about Tofino – the fresh fish, the amazing local ingredients, the locally sourced wines – with her Texas roots. So you end up with delicious seafood dishes along with pulled bison sandwiches and buttermilk biscuits that would make your southern granny cry (if you should be so lucky as to have a southern granny).

And the key lime pie….oh the key lime pie. I have never been to the Florida Keys, but I imagine that Lisa’s key lime pie is something like the all state champ of all key lime pies. I have already ditched any dream of a wedding cake, because damnit, I’m having a key lime wedding pie.

So if you come to visit me in Tofino, I will use you as my excuse to go to Sobo. I am trying to cut back as I currently blame Sobo for the extra ten pounds that have made their home on my midsection.

But if you come visit me, that’s kind of like a celebration, right? And at a celebration meal, calories don’t count?

Don’t say a word, just let me pretend.

And come visit us!

PS: I’m going to shamelessly plug a friend here and recommend Bobby Lax’s weekly cooking classes. He is a former chef at Sobo and currently manages the Tofino-Ucluelet Culinary Guild. He also is one of the nicest people in Tofino and runs a really fun and super educational cooking class. I will do a post on some of the classes I attended last year, but I just thought I would let all of you know that visiting us could be educational as well as delicious and fun!

One Comment on “Sobo”

  1. Becky says:

    Mmmmm….Sobo:) Thai Chicken Rotti and Corn Bread!


Leave a Reply

